The Hurt Locker Continues Its Dominance With the New York Film Critics Circle


It’s a beautiful day for The Hurt Locker! The New York Film Critics Circle (which includes our own David Edelstein) has announced its 2009 awards, and Locker has come out on top again: As with the L.A. Film Critics Awards, the movie nabbed Best Picture and director Kathryn Bigelow took Best Director. Elsewhere, no big surprises: Mo’Nique and Christoph Waltz continue their ho-hum dominance of the Best Supporting categories, while Meryl Streep and George Clooney emerge from the crowded fields in Best Actress and Actor. Meanwhile, Wes Anderson fanboys will be happy to hear that, just as in L.A., Fantastic Mr. Fox beat Up for Best Animated Film. As for us, we’re a little disappointed that NYFCC chairman Armond White was unable to work his love of package-delivery comedy Next Day Air into the mix.

Best Picture: The Hurt Locker

Best Director: Katheryn Bigelow, The Hurt Locker

Best Screenplay: In The Loop

Best Actress: Meryl Streep, Julie and Julia

Best Actor: George Clooney, Up In The Air / Fantastic Mr. Fox

Best Supporting Actress: Mo'Nique, Precious

Best Supporting Actor: Christoph Waltz, Inglorious Basterds

Best Cinematographer: Christian Berger, The White Ribbon

Best Animated Film: Fantastic Mr. Fox

Best Non-Fiction Film (Documentary): Of Time and The City

Best Foreign Film: Summer Hours

Best First Film: Hunger, Steve McQueen

2009 Awards [NYFCC]