Bono, Adam Sandler, and Guy From Saw to Pick Oscar Winners Now


The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences extended invitations today to 135 top actors, filmmakers, and studio execs — plus Bono, the Edge, Adam Sandler, and Tobin Bell — to join the Oscar-bestowing organization. Other notable members-to-be: T-Bone Burnett, Vera Farmiga, James Gandolfini, Anna Kendrick, Mo'Nique, Carey Mulligan, Jeremy Renner, Ryan Reynolds, Saoirse Ronan, Zoe Saldana, Gabourey Sidibe, and Christoph Waltz. We hope the Oscar-voting half of U2 at least lets Adam Clayton and Larry Mullen Jr. borrow their screeners.

Academy invites 135 to join as members [Boffo/Variety]