Coppola, Godard, Wallach Get Honorary Oscars


Francis Ford Coppola, New Wave hero Jean-Luc Godard, actor Eli Wallach, and film preservationist Kevin Brownlow are all receiving honorary Oscars. Coppola, who has already won five Academy Awards, will be honored in particular with the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award, previous winners of which include Hitchcock, Spielberg, Walt Disney, George Lucas, and Clint Eastwood. The awards will be handed out at a ceremony taking place on November 13, where they will thankfully not be contributing to the run time of the already endless Oscar telecast. [ArtsBeat/NYT]