Next Book in the Game of Thrones Series Gets a Release Date


The soon-to-premiere HBO show Game of Thrones — about a gruesome, complex, dynastic civil war — is based on the fantasy series by George R.R. Martin, a series that Martin has promised will be seven books long. But the fourth novel, A Feast for Crows, came out in 2005, and fans have been desperately anticipating the fifth novel, A Dance With Dragons, ever since. As of today, the 900-plus-page Dance has a publication date: July 12. So all the HBO-inspired newcomers to the books will only have to know the frustration of waiting for a new installment twice. Sometimes it doesn't pay to be an early adopter. [Shelf Life/EW]