Rock the Bells 2011: Nas Doing Illmatic; Lauryn Hill Doing Miseducation


The lineup for this year's Rock the Bells has been announced, and it is bonkers. The following acts will be running through their classic albums: Nas (Illmatic), Lauryn Hill (The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill), Raekwon (Only Built 4 Cuban Linx, with Ghostface), GZA (Liquid Swords), Mobb Deep (The Infamous), Cypress Hill (Black Sunday), and Black Star (Mos Def & Talib Kweli Are Black Star). Also on the bill: Erykah Badu, Roc Marciano, Mac Miller, Freddie Gibbs, CurrenSy, rapping Donald Glover, and more. First: Even if, as tradition would indicate, the acts don't adhere strictly to the full-album format, this is a nineties rap fan's wet dream. Second: Does said full-album format maybe mean Lauryn Hill won't be "reworking" her songs this time? [Official site via Consequence of Sound]