Oprah, James Earl Jones Win Honorary Oscars


Oprah won an Oscar this morning, for she is Oprah, the most powerful of all mythical media moguls, and she gets honorary Oscars in the middle of the summer. Winfrey, James Earl Jones, and makeup artist Dick Smith (The Exorcist, The Godfather) are the winners of this year's Governors Awards, the Academy announced today, with Oprah getting the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award, and Jones and Smith receiving lifetime achievement awards. No one won the Thalberg Award for producing this year, which just means that the campaigning for next year's Thalberg starts now. Time to name a host, Oscar folk! The impatience has set in. [Official site]