Who Was Left Out of the Oscars ‘In Memoriam’ Montage?


The annual "In Memoriam" montage at the Oscars always strives to be comprehensive, yet despite the inclusion of lesser-known names that the home audience probably wouldn't recognize, there are always a few notables who get left out. This year, the Academy even excluded one former winner: costume designer Eiko Ishioka, whose amazing, outlandish clothes for Bram Stoker's Dracula won her an Oscar in 1992 (she also costumed the upcoming Mirror Mirror). Also missing: Directors Raoul Ruiz and Theo Angelopoulos, actors Jeff Conaway (Grease), Michael Gough (Alfred the butler from Batman), Harry Morgan (though best known for M.A.S.H., he also appeared in many films), and Bubba Smith (Police Academy), as well as Ryan Dunn, though we're not sure the Academy ever would have considered including a Jackass performer who shoved a Hot Wheels car up his ass onscreen. But hey, maybe it was a legitimate oversight!