2013 Thurber Prize Finalists Announced


Named after humorist James Thurber (pictured), the Thurber Prize for American Humor is the highest honor awarded for print humor writing, and the 2013 finalists were just announced. The 2013 finalists are Shalom Auslander for his novel Hope: A Tragedy, Dan Nevin for his memoir Dan Gets a Minivan: Life at the Intersection of Dude and Dad, and Dave Barry and Alan Zweibel for their novel Lunatics. This year’s judges are Lisa Birnbach, Laurie Notaro, and Nate DiMeo. The prize will be given out on September 30th at Carolines on Broadway in NYC.

Check out a full list of past Thurber Prize winners below:

·         1997: Ian Frazier –  Coyote vs. Acme·         1999: Editorial staff of The Onion – Our Dumb Century·         2001: David Sedaris – Me Talk Pretty One Day·         2004: Christopher Buckley – No Way to Treat a First Lady·         2005: Jon Stewart and the writers of The Daily Show with Jon Stewart – The Daily Show with Jon Stewart Presents America (The Book): A Citizen’s Guide to Democracy Inaction·         2006: Alan Zweibel – The Other Shulman·         2007: Joe Keenan – My Lucky Star·         2008: Larry Doyle – I Love You, Beth Cooper·         2009:  Ian Frazier – Lamentations of the Father·         2010: Steve Hely – How I Became a Famous Novelist·         2011: David Rakoff – Half Empty·         2012: Calvin Trillin – Quite Enough of Calvin Trillin: Forty Years of Funny Stuff