Here Are the 2014 Writers Guild Awards Winners


The 66th annual Writers Guild Awards took place in dual ceremonies held at Los Angeles's JW Marriott and New York City's Edison Ballroom on Saturday night. The big winners of the night were Spike Jonze, Sarah Polley and, in what Deadline called a "somewhat surprising [win]," Billy Ray took home the Adapted Screenplay award for his work on Captain Phillips

Original Screenplay:
American Hustle, Written by Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell
Blue Jasmine, Written by Woody Allen
Dallas Buyers Club, Written by Craig Borten and Melisa Wallack
Her, Written by Spike Jonze
Nebraska, Written by Bob Nelson
Adapted Screenplay:
August: Osage County, Screenplay by Tracy Letts; based on his play
Before Midnight, Written by Richard Linklater and Julie Delpy and Ethan Hawke; Based on characters created by Richard Linklater and Kim Krizan
Captain Phillips, Screenplay by Billy Ray; Based on the book A Captain’s Duty: Somali Pirates, Navy SEALS, and Dangerous Days at Sea by Richard Phillips with Stephan Talty
Lone Survivor, Written by Peter Berg; Based on the book by Marcus Lutrell with Patrick Robinson
The Wolf of Wall Street, Screenplay by Terence Winter; Based on the book by Jordan Belfort
Documentary Screenplay:
Dirty Wars, Written by Jeremy Scahill and David Riker
Herblock – The Black & The White, Written by Sara Lukinson and Michael Stevens
No Place on Earth, Written by Janet Tobias and Paul Laikin
Stories We Tell, Written by Sarah Polley
We Steal Secrets: The Story of Wikileaks, Written by Alex Gibney

Other winners of the night include Veep (Comedy Series), House of Cards (New Series), The Colbert Report (Comedy/Variety Series), 30 Rock (Episodic Comedy, “Hogcock!”) and Breaking Bad. The latter of took home both Episodic Drama for “Confessions” and Drama Series.