Zayn Wanted to Leave One Direction to Go in a New Direction From the Very Beginning

By

Thursday on Beats 1 it's Zane v. Zayn, as Zane Lowe speaks to Zayn Malik in his first broadcast interview since leaving One Direction. In the clip above, Zayn talks in detail about his choice to leave the band, saying, "When I realized the direction that we were going in, mind the pun, with the music, I instantly realized it wasn't for me because I realized I couldn't put any input in." Zayn realized a lot, and we realized the interview took place in a large stadium full of invisible ghost people. The interview will broadcast on Beats 1 tomorrow, January 28, at 9 a.m. PST/12 p.m. EST/5 p.m. GMT/and 100 o'clock Ghost Time.