Atlanta, The Good Place, Marvel’s Luke Cage, and More Shows to Watch For

By
Photo: ABC and Netflix

There’s nothing quite like returning to the fall TV lineup to ease the pain of summer waning. Whether you prefer a comedy, drama, horror, or sci-fi program — and literally everything in between — the cable and streaming networks have certainly got you and your interests covered. Ahead of the quickly approaching fall season, we've highlighted some of the buzziest new shows to keep on your radar, and compiled when every show this fall will be returning to, or debuting on, the small screen. We’ll be updating this page when new programming information becomes available, so consider this your hub for all television announcements in the coming weeks.

Atlanta, September 6, FX

Donald Glover is back in this autobiographical series — which he also created — about two cousins trying to navigate and break into the hip-hop scene in Atlanta. Glover himself has described the show as "Twin Peaks with rappers," which is a pretty damn fine logline if you ask us.

Better Things, September 8, FX

Pamela Adlon stars as an overworked, divorced actress trying to raise her three daughters on her own, which, of course, will lead to lots of dysfunction. Adlon created the series alongside her longtime creative partner Louis C.K., so certainly expect to find their signature brand of observational humor sprinkled throughout the show.

The Good Place, September 19, NBC

In this satirical comedy, Kristen Bell's character wakes up in the afterlife following her unexpected death. After coming to the realization that she was only sent to heaven due to a mistaken identity, she begins to contemplate whether she really wants to stay there forever or attempt to return to Earth. Also featuring Ted Danson's return to NBC!

Designated Survivor, September 21, ABC

Jack Bauer and Nikita? Look out, America. Kiefer Sutherland and Maggie Q are headlining this new political drama, which follows the secretary of Housing and Urban Development assuming the role of president of the United States as the “designated survivor” following a catastrophic attack during a State of the Union address.

The Exorcist, September 23, Fox

Fox saw the television adaptation potential for the 1973 classic horror film (and the 1971 novel), but it’ll unfold a little differently than you remember — two different but strong-willed priests team up to rid a college-age girl of the demonic entity possessing her. It should be terrifying.

Marvel’s Luke Cage, September 30, Netflix

The Marvel Universe continues to expand. We first got a taste of Mike Colter’s Luke Cage with last year’s Marvel’s Jessica Jones, and now the superhuman is the subject of his own, highly anticipated stand-alone show. Marvel’s Luke Cage will find the former fugitive rebuilding his life in Harlem while fighting crime with his unbreakable skin and mega-strength.

Westworld, October 2, HBO

Based off the 1973 film of the same name, Westworld — whose packed cast includes Anthony Hopkins, Evan Rachel Wood, Ed Harris, and Thandie Newton — is a dark odyssey that chronicles a futuristic adult Wild West theme park filled with artificial beings. Yee-haw.

Divorce, October 9, HBO

Sarah Jessica Parker? Check. HBO? Check. New York City? Check. No, this isn’t Sex and the City: The Later Years, but rather SJP’s promising new comedy about a woman reassessing her life and choosing to pursue a drawn-out divorce from her husband. Things don’t go smoothly.

Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life, November 25, Netflix

Is there really anything more to add to the Gilmore Girls' revival that hasn’t already been said? Binge-watch the original series, drink a lot of coffee, and brush up on your quick wit before the four-part mini-series brings Rory and Lorelai back into our lives in November.

The full fall 2016 lineup:

Monday, August 22
10 p.m. Cheer Squad, Freeform

Tuesday, August 23
9 p.m. Halt and Catch Fire, AMC
10 p.m. The Profit, CNBC
10 p.m. Better Late Than Never, NBC
10 p.m., Adam Ruins Everything, TruTV
10:30 p.m., You Can Do Better, TruTV

Wednesday, August 24
10 p.m. Cleveland Hustles, CNBC
10 p.m. Gomorrah, Sundance

Friday, August 28
10 p.m. The Strain, FX

Wednesday, August 31
10 p.m. You're the Worst,  FX

Friday, September 2
12 a.m. Narcos, Netflix
12 a.m. Chef’s Table: France, Netflix

Monday, September 5
10.30 p.m. Loosely Exactly Nicole, MTV

Tuesday, September 6
10 p.m. Atlanta, FX
10 p.m. Queen Sugar, OWN
10 p.m. StartUp, Crackle

Thursday, September 8
10 p.m. Better Things, FX

Friday, September 9
12 a.m. One Mississippi, Amazon
10 p.m. Quarry, Cinemax

Sunday, September 11
8:30 p.m. Sunday Night Football, NBC
10 p.m. Masters of Sex, Showtime
10 p.m. Indian Summers, PBS

Monday, September 12
8 p.m. Dancing With the Stars, ABC

Wednesday, September 14
10 p.m. Blindspot, NBC
10 p.m. American Horror Story, FX

Thursday, September 15
7:30 p.m. Thursday Night Football Pre-Game Show, CBS
8:25 p.m. Thursday Night Football, CBS

Friday, September 16
12 a.m. Fleabag, Amazon
11 p.m. High Maintenance, HBO

Sunday, September 18
8 p.m. 68th Emmy Awards, ABC
8:30 p.m. Case Closed: JonBenét Ramsey, CBS

Monday, September 19
8 p.m. The Big Bang Theory, CBS
8 p.m. The Voice, NBC
8 p.m. Gotham, Fox
8:30 p.m. Kevin Can Wait, CBS
9 p.m. Lucifer, Fox
10 p.m. The Good Place, NBC

Tuesday, September 20
8 p.m. NCIS, CBS
8 p.m. Brooklyn Nine-Nine, Fox
8:30 p.m. New Girl, Fox
9 p.m. Bull, CBS
9 p.m. Scream Queens, Fox
10 p.m. Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., ABC
10 p.m. NCIS: New Orleans, CBS
10 p.m. This Is Us, NBC

Wednesday, September 21
8 p.m. The Goldbergs, ABC
8 p.m. Survivor, CBS
8 p.m. Lethal Weapon, Fox
8:30 p.m. Speechless, ABC
9 p.m. Modern Family, ABC
9 p.m. Law & Order: SVU, NBC
9 p.m. Empire, Fox
9:30 Black-ish, ABC
9:30 Big Brother, CBS
10 p.m. Designated Survivor, ABC
10 p.m. Chicago P.D., NBC

Thursday, September 22
12 a.m. Easy, Netflix
8 p.m. Grey’s Anatomy, ABC
8 p.m. Superstore, NBC
8 p.m. Rosewood, Fox
9 p.m. Notorious, ABC
9 p.m. Chicago Med, NBC
9 p.m. Pitch, Fox
10 p.m. How to Get Away With Murder, ABC
10 p.m. The Blacklist, NBC

Friday, September 23
12 a.m. Transparent, Amazon
12 a.m. Longmire, Netflix
8 p.m. Last Man Standing, ABC
8 p.m. Caught on Camera With Nick Cannon, NBC
8 p.m. MacGyver, CBS
8 p.m. Hell’s Kitchen, Fox
8:30 p.m. Dr. Ken, ABC
9 p.m. Shark Tank, ABC
9 p.m. Hawaii Five-0, CBS
9 p.m. Dateline NBC, NBC
9 p.m. The Exorcist, Fox
10 p.m. Blue Bloods, CBS

Saturday, September 24
10 p.m. 48 Hours, CBS

Sunday, September 25
7:30 p.m. 60 Minutes, CBS
7:30 p.m. Bob’s Burgers, Fox
8 p.m. Once Upon a Time, ABC
8 p.m. The Simpsons, Fox
8:30 p.m. Son of Zorn, Fox
9 p.m. Secrets and Lies, ABC
9 p.m. Family Guy, Fox
9:30 p.m. The Last Man on Earth, Fox
10 p.m. Quantico, ABC

Wednesday, September 28
9 p.m. Criminal Minds, CBS
10 p.m. Code Black, CBS
10 p.m. Younger, TV Land
10:30 Impastor, TV Land

Friday, September 30
12 a.m. Marvel’s Luke Cage, Netflix
12 a.m. Crisis in Six Scenes, Amazon

Saturday, October 1
10 p.m. Versailles, Ovation

Sunday, October 2
7 p.m. America’s Funniest Home Videos, ABC
8 p.m. NCIS: Los Angeles, CBS
8 p.m. Ash vs. Evil Dead, Starz 
9 p.m. Madam Secretary, CBS
9 p.m. Westworld, HBO
10 p.m. Elementary, CBS
TBD Blunt Talk, Starz

Monday, October 3
9 p.m. Scorpion, CBS
10 p.m. Conviction, ABC
10 p.m. Timeless, NBC

Tuesday, October 4
8 p.m. The Flash, the CW
9 p.m. No Tomorrow, the CW

Wednesday, October 5
8 p.m. Arrow, the CW
9 p.m. Frequency, the CW

Thursday, October 6
10:30 p.m. Those Who Can't, truTV 

Friday, October 7
12 a.m. The Ranch, Netflix

Sunday, October 9
10 p.m. Divorce, HBO
10:30 p.m. Insecure, HBO

Monday, October 10
8 p.m. Supergirl, the CW
9:30 p.m. 2 Broke Girls, CBS

Tuesday, October 11
8 p.m. The Middle, ABC
8:30 American Housewife, ABC
9 p.m. Fresh Off the Boat, ABC
9:30 p.m. The Real O’Neals, ABC
10 p.m. Chicago Fire, NBC

Thursday, October 13
8 p.m. DC’s Legends of Tomorrow, the CW
9 p.m. Supernatural, the CW

Friday, October 14
12 a.m. Haters Back Off, Netflix
12 a.m. Goliath, Amazon

Monday, October 17
9 p.m. Jane the Virgin, the CW
9:30 p.m. The Odd Couple, CBS

Thursday, October 18
8 p.m. The Rocky Horror Picture Show: Let's Do The Time Warp Again, Fox

Friday, October 21
12 a.m. Black Mirror, Netflix
12 a.m. Midnight Diner, Netflix
8 p.m. The Vampire Diaries, the CW
9 p.m. Crazy Ex-Girlfriend, he CW

Saturday, October 22
9 p.m. Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency, BBC America

Sunday, October 23
9 p.m. The Walking Dead, AMC
10 p.m. The Talking Dead, AMC

Monday, October 24
8:30 p.m. Man With a Plan, CBS

Tuesday, October 25
10 p.m. Jon Glaser Loves Gear, truTV 

Thursday, October 27
8:30 p.m. The Great Indoors, CBS
9 p.m. Mom, CBS
9:30 Life in Pieces, CBS
10 p.m. Pure Genius, CBS

Friday, October 28
12 a.m. Good Girls Revolt, Amazon

Wednesday, November 2
10:30 p.m. Rachel Dratch's Last Night Snack, truTV
TBD Salem, WGN America

Friday, November 11
12 a.m. Red Oaks, Amazon

Thursday, November 17
12 a.m. Lovesick, Netflix

Friday, November 18
12 a.m. Beat Bugs, Netflix

Sunday, November 20
10 p.m. The Affair, Showtime

Friday, November 25
12 a.m. Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life, Netflix

Sunday, December 4
9 p.m. Mariah's World, E!