Did ‘Juno’ and ‘No Country’ Just Accidentally Win the WGA Awards?

Courtesy of Fox Searchlight and Miramax

The Writers Guild Award nominees were announced yesterday, and the L.A. Times’ Envelope blog points out that the guild might have accidentally tipped the winners on its Website. The nominees in the Original and Adapted categories aren’t listed in alphabetical order; instead, they’re in seemingly random order, with two presumptive front-runners, Juno and No Country for Old Men, atop the lists. Did some intern at the WGA just cut and paste the lists in order of votes received? Did the striking guild decide that reordering the list was too much like writing? The full list of nominees (in the WGA’s mysterious order) is after the jump.


Juno, written by Diablo Cody
Michael Clayton, written by Tony Gilroy
The Savages, written by Tamara Jenkins
Knocked Up, written by Judd Apatow
Lars and the Real Girl, written by Nancy Oliver


No Country for Old Men, written by Ethan Coen and Joel Coen, based on the novel by Cormac McCarthy
There Will Be Blood, written by Paul Thomas Anderson, based on the novel Oil! by Upton Sinclair
The Diving Bell and the Butterfly, written by Ronald Harwood, based on the book by Jean-Dominique Bauby
Into the Wild, written by Sean Penn, based on the book by Jon Krakauer
Zodiac, written by James Vanderbilt, based on the book by Robert Graysmith

Has WGA — oops — tattled on its award winners? [Envelope/LAT]

Did ‘Juno’ and ‘No Country’ Just Accidentally Win the WGA Awards?