Panic! at the Disco Defectors Face Off Against Old Bandmates!

Counterclockwise from top left: Ross, Walker, Smith, and Urie.

Panic! at the Disco, as you’ve surely heard, recently had two members defect: lyricist-songwriter Ryan Ross and bassist Jon Walker. Today we hear not only the first song from their new band, the Young Veins (Varicose Veins just wasn’t youthful enough), but also the latest track from the remaining Panic members, Brendon Urie and Spencer Smith. The songs are called, respectively, “Change” and “New Perspective,” which tells you most of what you need to know about their themes — although we think it’s important to note that the latter includes the line, “Can we press fast-forward to go down on me?” (we have got to get the unrated DVD of Click). We had a surprisingly tough time deciding which song is better: “Change” rips off sixties and seventies British rock better than pretty much any of the indie bands who attempted the same in the nineties, but “New Perspective” does nineties pop-rock better than a lot of the bands we remember from then. Panic! at the Disco, you take this round.

“Change,” the Young Veins:

“New Perspective,” Panic! at the Disco (better sound at MySpace):

Panic! at the Disco Defectors Face Off Against Old Bandmates!

Things you buy through our links may earn Vox Media a commission.