Hurt Locker Wins Big At BAFTAs

Bigelow and her BAFTA.

The Hurt Locker continued its hot streak at tonight’s British Academy of Film and Television Arts Awards in London, picking up six trophies including Best Film, Best Director (Kathryn Bigelow) and Best Original Screenplay (Mark Boal). While Oscar front runners Christoph Waltz (Inglorious Basterds) and Mo’Nique (Precious) took the BAFTAs for Supporting Actor and Actress, the Best Actor and Actress trophies went to Brits Colin Firth (A Single Man) and Carey Mulligan (An Education) (though Oscar favorite Sandra Bullock wasn’t in contention since The Blind Side didn’t open in the U.K. in time).

As for Avatar? The blockbuster, which had been nominated for eight BAFTAs, won just two technical awards.

Film: The Hurt Locker
Director: Kathryn Bigelow, The Hurt Locker
Actor: Colin Firth, A Single Man
Actress: Carey Mulligan, An Education
Supporting Actor: Christoph Waltz, Inglourious Basterds
Supporting Actress: Mo’Nique, Precious
Original Screenplay: Mark Boal, The Hurt Locker
Adapted Screenplay: Jason Reitman & Sheldon Turner, Up in the Air
British Film: Fish Tank
Animated Film: Up
Film Not in the English Language: A Prophet
Editing: The Hurt Locker
Cinematography: The Hurt Locker
Production Design: Avatar
Hair & Makeup: The Young Victoria
Costume Design: The Young Victoria
Visual Effects: Avatar
Sound: The Hurt Locker
Music: Up
British Debut: Duncan Jones, Moon
Orange Rising Star: Kristen Stewart
Short Animation: Mother of Many
Short Film: I Do Air

BAFTA winners announced [EW]

Hurt Locker Wins Big At BAFTAs