When We Leave Scores Top Honors At Tribeca Film Festival


Feo Aladag’s German drama When We Leave won prizes for best feature and best actress (Sibel Kekilli) at the Tribeca Film Festival awards ceremony tonight. Alexandra Codina’s Down syndrome study Monica & David won best documentary and Eric Elmosnino received the best actor prize for his role in Gainsbourg, je t’aime … moi non plus. Dana Adam Shapiro’s relationship drama Monogomy was picked as the best New York narrative. The festival has not yet seen distribution deals for any of the available titles, a group which includes Monogomy, though talks have begun for several films. The Heineken Audience Award will be announced Saturday during the festival’s wrap party.

World Competition Categories

The Founders Award for Best Narrative Feature
When We Leave (Die Fremde), directed and written by Feo Aladag

Special Jury Mention
Loose Cannons, directed by Ferzan Ozpetek and written by Ozpetek and Ivan Cotroneo

Best New Narrative Filmmaker
Kim Chapiron for Dog Pound, written by Kim Chapiron and Jeremie Delon

Best Actor in a Narrative Feature Film

Eric Elmosnino as Serge Gainsbourg in Gainsbourg, Je t’Aime … Moi Non Plus, directed and written by Joann Sfar

Best Actress in a Narrative Feature Film
Sibel Kekilli as Umay in When We Leave (Die Fremde)

Best Documentary Feature
Monica & David, directed by Alexandra Codina

Special Jury Mention
Budrus, directed by Julia Bacha

Best New Documentary Filmmaker
Clio Barnard for The Arbor

New York Competition Categories

Best New York Narrative
Monogamy, directed by Dana Adam Shapiro, written by Shapiro and Evan M. Weiner

Special Jury Mention
Melissa Leo for The Space Between, directed and written by Travis Fine

Best New York Documentary
The Woodmans, directed by C. Scott Willis

Short Film Competition Categories

Best Narrative Short
Father Christmas Doesn’t Come Here, directed by Bekhi Sibiya, written by Sibongile Nkosana, Bongi Ndaba

Special Jury Mention
The Crush, directed and written by Michael Creagh

Best Documentary Short
White Lines & The Fever: The Death of DJ Junebug, directed and written by Travis Senger

Special Jury Mention

Out of Infamy: Michi Nishiura Weglyn, directed and written by Nancy Kapitanoff, Sharon Yamato

Student Visionary Award

Some Boys Don’t Leave, directed by Maggie Kiley, written by Matthew Mullen, Maggie Kiley

Special Jury Mention
The Pool Party, directed and written by Sara Zandieh

Tribeca Film Festival Virtual Categories

Best Feature Film
Spork, directed and written by J.B. Ghuman Jr.

Best Short Film

Delilah, Before, directed Melanie Schiele

’When We Leave’ tops Tribeca fest awards [HR]

When We Leave Scores Top Honors At Tribeca Film Festival