NBC Reaches Out to Aspiring TV Writers in New ‘Comedy Playground’ Initiative

NBC is looking to develop brand new talent through a new initiative they’re calling the “Comedy Playground.” Starting on May 1st, the initiative will begin accepting video submissions from aspiring comedy writers for new show concepts, and they’ve enlisted a star-studded “Advisory Board” that includes Adam McKay, Amy Poehler, Mike Schur, Robert Carlock, Seth Meyers, Maya Rudolph, and Aziz Ansari to help select the winners. Two on-air winners will have up to five episodes of their show produced by the network and aired sometime next summer, while a third digital winner will have their concept produced and shown via NBC’s website based on online voting.

“We are taking a bold, alternative approach in what we hope will uncover original comedy minds who are looking for a way to get into the television business,” said NBC exec Jennifer Salke in a statement. “We are so thrilled we have our traditional process at NBC and that we will also have fun with this new creative process.” All submissions will be available for viewing on the Comedy Playground website for the duration of the contest, which closes at the end of June.

NBC Reaches Out to Aspiring TV Writers in New ‘Comedy […]