Booker Prize Longlist Announced; No Goldfinch

Photo: Amazon

For the first time since it was established in 1969, the Man Booker Prize is open to authors from outside the British Commonwealth. And it shows, with only one author on the list of 13 coming from a Commonwealth nation. (That would be Australia’s Richard Flanagan.) Donna Tartt’s The Goldfinch, which won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction in April, was nowhere to be found.

Joshua Ferris, U.S.
To Rise Again at a Decent Hour

Siri Hustvedt, U.S.
The Blazing World

Richard Powers, U.S.

Karen Joy Fowler, U.S.
We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves

Richard Flanagan, Australia
The Narrow Road to the Deep North

Howard Jacobson, Great Britain

Neel Mukherjee, Great Britain
The Lives of Others

Paul Kingsnorth, Great Britain
The Wake

David Mitchell, Great Britain
The Bone Clocks

David Nicholls, Great Britain

Ali Smith, Great Britain
How to Be Both

Joseph O’Neill, Ireland (but lives in the U.S.)
The Dog

Niall Williams, Ireland
History of the Rain

Booker Prize Longlist Announced; No Goldfinch