Here Are the Finalists for the National Book Award

Photo: Amazon

The 20 books on the short list for the 2014 National Book Awards were just announced. Just as in the other NBA, they can’t all be champions: The winners in each category will be announced November 19.

Anthony Doerr, All the Light We Cannot See
Rabih Alameddine, An Unnecessary Woman
Marilynne Robinson, Lila
Phil Klay, Redeployment
Emily St. John Mandel, Station Eleven

Evan Osnos, Age of Ambition
Roz Chast, Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant
Edward O. Wilson, The Meaning of Human Existence
Anand Gopal, No Good Men Among the Living
John Lahr, Tennessee Williams: Mad Pilgrimage of the Flesh

Claudia Rankine, Citizen
Louise Glück, Faithful and Virtuous Night
Fred Moten, The Feel Trio
Fanny Howe, Second Childhood
Maureen N. McLane, This Blue

Young People’s Literature
Jacqueline Woodson, Brown Girl Dreaming
John Corey Whaley, Noggin
Steve Sheinkin, The Port Chicago 50
Deborah Wiles, Revolution
Eliot Schrefer, Threatened 

Here’s the National Book Award Short List