Here Are the 2014 National Book Award Winners

In a ceremony that NPR tells us was “packed as much with jabs at Amazon as with jazzy entrance music,” the National Book Foundation announced this year’s National Book Awards Wednesday night. The winners, each of whom received $10,000 and probably a big blue ribbon to show their parents, are in bold below.

Rabih Alameddine, An Unnecessary Woman
Anthony Doerr, All the Light We Cannot See
Phil Klay, Redeployment
Marilynne Robinson, Lila
Emily St. John Mandel, Station Eleven

Roz Chast, Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant
Anand Gopal, No Good Men Among the Living
John Lahr, Tennessee Williams: Mad Pilgrimage of the Flesh
Evan Osnos, Age of Ambition
Edward O. Wilson, The Meaning of Human Existence

Louise Glück, Faithful and Virtuous Night
Fanny Howe, Second Childhood
Maureen N. McLane, This Blue
Fred Moten, The Feel Trio
Claudia Rankine, Citizen

Eliot Schrefer, Threatened 
Steve Sheinkin, The Port Chicago 50
John Corey Whaley, Noggin
Deborah Wiles, Revolution
Jacqueline Woodson, Brown Girl Dreaming

Here Are the 2014 National Book Award Winners