Eddie Murphy to Receive the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor This Year

The Kennedy Center has revealed this year’s recipient of the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor. The New York Times reports that Eddie Murphy will receive the Kennedy Center’s annual lifetime achievement award this year, which honors “a fearless observer of society, who startled many while delighting and informing many more with his uncompromising perspective on social injustice and personal folly.” Kennedy Center president Deborah F. Rutter added: “Through his appearances on Saturday Night Live, groundbreaking stand-up comedy, and work as a movie star, Eddie Murphy has shown that like Mark Twain, he was years ahead of his time.” Murphy joins recent Mark Twain Prize recipients Tina Fey, Ellen DeGeneres, Carol Burnett, and Jay Leno. The ceremony will be taped in October, but no guest performers have been revealed yet. Judging from Murphy’s appearance at the SNL anniversary show, you can probably count on Murphy to keep things super serious.

Eddie Murphy to Receive the Mark Twain Prize for […]