Listen to Janet Jackson’s Very Lovable ‘Unbreakable’

Giorgio Armani - Front Row - MFW F/W 2013
Janet Jackson. Photo: Vittorio Zunino Celotto/2013 Getty Images

Janet Jackson unveiled the track list, release date, and titular single from her latest album, Unbreakable, on Thursday. The song (listen below) plays like a retro-sounding, long-overdue love letter. To whom? Well, it’s hard to listen to the outro and not think she’s at least slightly winking at her fans: “Hello / It’s been a while / Lots to talk about / I’m glad you’re still here / I hope you enjoy.” But Unbreakable, song and album, like much of Janet’s prior material, will work on various levels. “Themes [of Unbreakable] will include, Janet’s views on where we stand today as individuals and as the inter-related elements of a planet. Some of these relate to her convictions passionately expressed in Rhythm Nation 1814, including the need to bring things out in the open and to have a dialogue,” notes a statement on her website. “The album also will mark the first time Janet Jackson has opened up about her brother Michael and with reflections concerning her youth.” The record, Janet’s first studio effort in seven years, drops October 2. Glad to have you back, Miss J.

Here’s “Unbreakable”:

And here’s the track list (J Cole! Missy Elliott!):

  1. Unbreakable
  2. Burnitup! (feat. Missy Elliott)
  3. Dammn Baby
  4. The Great Forever
  5. Shoulda Known Better
  6. After You Fall
  7. Broken Hearts Heal
  8. Night
  9. No Sleeep (feat. J Cole)
  10. Dream Maker / Euphoria
  11. 2 B Loved
  12. Take Me Away
  13. Promise
  14. Lessons Learned
  15. Black Eagle
  16. Well Traveled
  17. Gon B Alright

You can preorder it here.

Listen to Janet Jackson’s Lovable ‘Unbreakable’