new albums

Weezer Has Announced Its Next Self-Titled Album, Its White Album

Weezer. Photo: Facebook

All those new Weezer songs were leading up to something, and that something is almost here: In a very serious update, the band announced late Thursday night that it’s releasing its next self-titled album (its “white album,” thanks to the monochrome cover art) on April 1 (no joke). It will be weird and beach-y and devoid of course-corrected promises (at the moment, at least). “This album was inspired by my experiences hanging around the Westside of Los Angeles, which has been our home since Weezer began,” front man Rivers Cuomo wrote on the group’s website. “Hanging out with people in Venice and Santa Monica, the beach, the Hare Krishnas, the Sikh on roller blades with the guitar, girls on Tinder within a 4 mile radius, seeing other bands, etc. … I love California. I wanted the album to have a Beach Boys sort of vibe to make you feel like you were there with us SoCal weirdos even if you’re in Milwaukee in December.”

You can pre-order your very own West Coast experience here. Doing so will instantly net you Weezer’s previously released singles, as well as this newest song, “King of the World” — the visuals and sounds of which seem to fit Rivers’s description, for the most part:

For reference, here’s the white album’s full track list:

1. California Kids
2. Wind in Our Sail
3. Thank God for Girls
4. (Girl We Got a) Good Thing
5. Do You Wanna Get High?
6. King of the World
7. Summer Elaine and Drunk Dori
8. L.A. Girlz
9. Jacked Up
10. Endless Bummer

And packaged with the above updates, a summer tour and a handful of early release shows were also announced (full details below):

Our new self titled album will be out on April 1st (this is not a joke). North America pre-order it now on Apple Music...

Posted by Weezer on Thursday, January 14, 2016
Weezer Just Announced Another Self-Titled Album