Tangerine’s Mya Taylor, Spotlight, and Idris Elba Win at the Independent Spirit Awards

2016 Film Independent Spirit Awards - Show
Mya Taylor. Photo: Kevork Djansezian/2016 Getty Images

The Film Independent Spirit Awards gave Best Feature to Spotlight last night, though the possible Oscar contender faced no competition from its two Best Picture rivals, The Big Short and The Revenant, which weren’t at the indie-focused ceremony. Spotlight swept with Best Feature, Director, Screenplay, and Editing, while Netflix’s Beasts of No Nation, which scored five nominations, earned two trophies, for Idris Elba and young star Abraham Attah. Tangerine’s Mya Taylor took home Best Supporting Female, becoming the first trans woman to win a major film acting award. “There is transgender talent,” Taylor said in her acceptance speech. “There’s very beautiful transgender talent, so you better get out there and put it in your next movie.”

See the full list of winners below.

Best Feature

Best Director
Tom McCarthy, Spotlight

Best Female Lead
Brie Larson, Room

Best Male Lead
Abraham Attah, Beasts of No Nation

Best Supporting Female
Mya Taylor, Tangerine

Best Supporting Male
Idris Elba, Beasts of No Nation

Best Screenplay
Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer, Spotlight

Best Cinematography
Ed Lachman, Carol

Best Documentary
The Look of Silence

Best Film Editing
Tom McArdle, Spotlight

Best First Feature
The Diary of a Teenage Girl

Best First Screenplay
Emma Donoghue, Room

Best International Film
Son of Saul

John Cassavetes Award

Robert Altman Award

Tangerine, Spotlight Win at the Spirit Awards