pulitzer prizes

Pulitzer Prize 2016 Winners Announced, Of Course This List Includes Hamilton

The 58th GRAMMY Awards -

The 2016 Pulitzer Prizes were announced during a Youtube livestream today, which is similar to how the first awards were given in 1917: live, in the middle of a stream somewhere, while a few people on donkeys gathered to watch. (We assume.) It should come as no surprise that Lin-Manuel Miranda is taking home a Pulitzer for Hamilton, but it may come as a surprise that the Tampa Bay Times is also taking home a Pulitzer. Unless you live in Tampa Bay, in which case, you probably saw that coming. Twenty winners will receive a $10,000 prize, while the journalism category’s Public Service winner gets a shiny gold medal. See the full list of winners below:


Public Service: Associated Press

Breaking News Reporting: Los Angeles Times

Investigative Reporting: Leonora LaPeter Anton and Anthony Cormier of the Tampa Bay News and Michael Braga of the Sarasota Herald-Tribune

Explanatory Reporting: T. Christian Miller of ProPublica and Ken Armstrong of the Marshall Project

Local Reporting: Tampa Bay Times

National Reporting: the Washington Post

International Reporting: Alissa J. Rubin of the New York Times

Feature Writing: Kathryn Schulz of The New Yorker

Commentary: Farah Stockman of the Boston Globe

Criticism: Emily Nussbaum of The New Yorker

Editorial Writing: John Hackworth of Sun Newspapers, Charlotte Harbor, Florida

Editorial Cartooning: Jack Ohman of the Sacramento Bee

Breaking News Photography: Mauricio Lima, Sergey Ponomarev, Tyler Hicks, Daniel Etter of the New York Times; and the photography staff of Thomson Reuters

Feature Photography: Jessica Rinaldi of the Boston Globe

Letters Drama and Music

Fiction: Viet Thanh Nguyen for The Sympathizer

Drama: Lin-Manuel Miranda for Hamilton

History: T.J. Stiles for Custer’s Trials: A Life on the Frontier of a New America

Biography or Autobiography: William Finnegan for Barbarian Days: A Surfing Life

Poetry: Peter Balakian for Ozone Journal

General Non-Fiction: Joby Warrick for Black Flags: The Rise of ISIS

Music: Henry Threadgill for In for a Penny, In for a Pound

Pulitzer Prize 2016 Winners Announced