mark twain prize

Finally, Some Recognition for Bill Murray, Who Will Receive the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor

He already has a 19th century-appropriate hat!

Bill Murray has spent enough time at other people’s parties that he’s now eligible for a party of his own. The Kennedy Center has announced that Murray will receive the 19th annual Mark Twain Prize for American Humor. The ceremony will take place on October 23 and be broadcast at a later date. Past recipients include Eddie Murphy, Jay Leno, George Carlin, and Tina Fey. The night will include performances from other comedians, but the Kennedy Center hasn’t given any details except that [leans in close, whispers, “Just Like Honey” begins to play].

Bill Murray to Receive Mark Twain Prize