2016 national book award

Here Are the 2016 National Book Award Winners

The 67th National Book Awards Ceremony & Benefit Dinner
Photo: Sylvain Gaboury/Patrick McMullan via Getty Image

The winners of the 67th annual National Book Awards were announced tonight at a ceremony hosted by Larry Wilmore. He opened the night with inevitable jokes about the presidential election, describing the declining emotional health of liberals on November 8 as akin to everyone’s dog dying at the same time. The political banter then transitioned into more literary-based humor, as Wilmore told the crowd that Trump’s election will have a big impact on publishing. For example, Wilmore informed the crowed that all of President-elect Trump’s books are currently being moved from the nonfiction section in libraries to the horror section, while the Constitution gets moved over to the fiction shelf. Wilmore also suggested that many books might actually change their titles to reflect the new leadership regime, saying that Pride and Prejudice will now be called Pride and Really [self-censored] Prejudice. The awards presentations were then free to commence, and the finalists and winners (bolded) of this year’s National Book Awards are as follows.


Chris Bachelder, The Throwback Special

Paulette Jiles, News of the World

Karan Mahajan, The Association of Small Bombs

Colson Whitehead, The Underground Railroad

Jacqueline Woodson, Another Brooklyn


Arlie Russell Hochschild, Strangers in Their Own Land: Anger and Mourning on the American Right

Ibram X. Kendi, Stamped from the Beginning: The Definitive History of Racist Ideas in America

Viet Thanh Nguyen, Nothing Ever Dies: Vietnam and the Memory of War

Andrés Reséndez, The Other Slavery: The Uncovered Story of Indian Enslavement in America 

Heather Ann Thompson, Blood in the Water: The Attica Prison Uprising of 1971 and Its Legacy


Daniel Borzutzky, The Performance of Becoming Human

Rita Dove, Collected Poems 1974 – 2004

Peter Gizzi, Archeophonics

Jay Hopler, The Abridged History of Rainfall

Solmaz Sharif, Look


Kate DiCamillo, Raymie Nightingale

John Lewis, Andrew Aydin & Nate Powell (Artist), March: Book Three

Grace Lin, When the Sea Turned to Silver

Jason Reynolds, Ghost

Nicola Yoon, The Sun Is Also a Star

Here Are This Year’s National Book Award Winners