acm awards

Beyoncé and Sturgill Simpson Predictably Snubbed by the 2017 Academy of Country Music Awards Nominations

What a week. Photo: Getty Images

In a week that has already seen Beyoncé denied Album of the Year at the Grammys, the hits just keep on coming. The Academy of Country Music has announced the nominees for its annual awards show — the oldest of the many, many country award shows — and two big, deserving names didn’t make the cut: Both Beyoncé and Sturgill Simpson have been snubbed. Shake your fist at the establishment. We’ll wait. Beyoncé’s very country “Daddy Lessons” — both the original and Dixie Chicks version — was eligible, but, alas, like the Grammys this year, apparently not deemed fit to qualify. (Just what will they make of Lady Gaga’s wide-brimmed hat tricks next year, hmmm?)

In even less surprising news, despite taking home the Grammy for Best Country Album over two other ACM darlings, Sturgill’s A Sailor’s Guide to Earth is also nowhere to be found. Except that might just be exactly what Sturgill wanted: Last year, he railed against the Academy of Country Music for exploiting Merle Haggard’s legacy by creating an award in his honor, essentially rewriting history to make it seem like Haggard was ever a fan of the ACM. (Sturgill even predicted he’d be “blackballed from the industry” for speaking out.) To quote Sturgill after his Grammy win quoting Gil Scott-Heron, “I guess the revolution will not be televised.” Especially not at the 2017 ACM Awards, which air April 2 on CBS. See who did get nominated, below.

Entertainer of the Year
Jason Aldean
Luke Bryan
Florida Georgia Line
Carrie Underwood
Keith Urban

Album of the Year
Dierks Bentley, Black
Florida Georgia Line, Dig Your Roots
Maren Morris, Hero
Keith Urban, Ripcord
Miranda Lambert, The Weight of These Wings

Song of the Year
Keith Urban, “Blue Ain’t Your Color”
Thomas Rhett, “Die a Happy Man”
Tim McGraw, “Humble and Kind”
Eric Church, “Kill a Word”
Chris Stapleton, “Tennessee Whiskey”
Miranda Lambert, “Vice”

Single Record of the Year
Keith Urban, “Blue Ain’t Your Color”
Florida Georgia Line, “H.O.L.Y.”
Tim McGraw, “Humble and Kind”
Maren Morris, “My Church”
Miranda Lambert, “Vice”

Male Vocalist of the Year
Jason Aldean
Dierks Bentley
Thomas Rhett
Chris Stapleton
Keith Urban

Female Vocalist of the Year
Kelsea Ballerini
Miranda Lambert
Maren Morris
Kacey Musgraves
Carrie Underwood

Vocal Duo of the Year
Big & Rich
Brothers Osborne
Dan + Shay
Florida Georgia Line
Maddie & Tae

Vocal Group of the Year
Eli Young Band
Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town
Old Dominion
Rascal Flatts

2017 ACMs: Beyoncé and Sturgill Simpson Predictably Snubbed