David Letterman, Snoop Dogg, and Pharrell Are Among the Rock Hall Induction Presenters This Year

Letterman will fill in for Neil Young to induct Pearl Jam. Photo: Mike Coppola/Getty Images for Little Kids Rock

Much to Steve Miller’s chagrin, the annual Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction ceremony will soldier on and take place this year as always, welcoming a new class of rock pioneers into the esteemed club. Pearl Jam, Yes, Joan Baez, Journey, Tupac Shakur, and Electric Light Orchestra are the lucky six this year, and in addition to experiencing all of the glitz and glam of getting inducted (one posthumously), they’ll also have the distinction of receiving poignant, long induction speeches by their peers. Most of the presenters have been announced, with all of them showing a deep appreciation for each act — David Letterman will now fill in for an ailing Neil Young to induct frequent Late Show guests Pearl Jam into the Hall, while Snoop Dogg will have the honor of inducting his late friend Shakur. Pharrell will induct his friend and “Get Lucky” collaborator Nile Rodgers, who’s finally getting into the Hall under the Award for Musical Excellence after 11 unsuccessful tries with Chic.

Two members of Rush, Geddy Lee and Alex Lifeson, will present fellow prog rockers Yes’s induction, while Jackson Browne will induct his friend Baez. George Harrison’s son Dhani Harrison will induct ELO, and Train’s Pat Monahan will do the honors for Journey. At last year’s ceremony, the Roots and David Byrne played a tribute to the late David Bowie; this year, Lenny Kravitz will do the same for Prince. Also performing: Alicia Keys, Mary Chapin Carpenter, and Indigo Girls. The music world will descend upon the Barclays Center for the festivities on April 7 — the rest of us will have to wait to watch whatever hijinks inevitably go down when it airs on HBO on April 29.

This post has been updated throughout.

Letterman, Snoop Dogg Among Rock Hall Induction Presenters