Here Are This Year’s National Book Award Winners

Photo: Vulture

Book clubs everywhere, take heed. The 2018 National Book Award winners were officially announced on Wednesday night at a ceremony in New York City. And, along with the return of the Translated Literature category for the first time since 1983, there were more than a few surprising winners. Here is the full list of this year’s honorees:

Young People’s Literature
Elizabeth Acevedo, The Poet X

Translated Literature
Yoko Tawada, The Emissary
Translated by Margaret Mitsutani
New Directions

Justin Phillip Reed, Indecency
Coffee House Press

Jeffrey C. Stewart, The New Negro: The Life of Alain Locke
Oxford University Press

Sigrid Nunez, The Friend

Here’s the List of This Year’s National Book Award Winners