The Conners Will Return for a Second Season on ABC

The Conners. Photo: Eric McCandless/ABC

The Roseanne-free Roseanne reboot, The Conners, is returning to ABC for another season. The network announced today that it’s officially renewed the series for a second season, though the exact episode order is unclear (Deadline says the speculation is that it will be 13 episodes, a slightly larger season than last year’s 11). John Goodman, Laurie Metcalf, Sara Gilbert, Lecy Goranson, and Michael Fishman will all return for the next batch of episodes. Some of the guest stars who showed up throughout last season include Matthew Broderick, Juliette Lewis, Katey Sagal, Mary Steenburgen, Justin Long, Jay R. Ferguson, and Sarah Chalke.

“We are proud to be continuing the story of the iconic Conners family,” ABC’s Karey Burke said on the news. “This team is fearless in their willingness to tackle contemporary issues with humor and heart, and I have no doubt they will continue to outdo themselves.”

Roseanne Barr, meanwhile, is the subject of a new feature in the Washington Post this week detailing the infamous Valerie Jarrett tweet that ultimately got the Roseanne reboot canceled and the behind-the-scenes tension her Twitter caused at the show. Barr says in the piece that she’ll never forgive Sara Gilbert for condemning her for her tweet: “She destroyed the show and my life with that tweet. She will never get enough until she consumes my liver with a fine Chianti.”

The Conners Will Return for a Second Season on ABC