A New Prince Album Is Headed to Tidal

Prince. Photo: Vince Bucci/Getty Images

It looks like the Paisley Park vault is open for business. Courtesy of Jay-Z, Warner Bros., and the Prince Estate’s Troy Carter, a posthumous Prince album titled Originals will be released exclusively to Tidal on June 7. The 15-track album has 14 unreleased recordings of songs that Prince wrote and produced for Apollonia 6, the Time, the Bangles, Sheila E., Vanity 6, Mazarati, Kenny Rogers, Jill Jones, Martika, and Taja Sevelle. The final track is Prince’s recording of the Family’s “Nothing Compares 2 U,” which was made famous by Sinéad O’Connor. This recording was first released in 2018.

Non-Tidal members (or Beyoncé “fans”) can stream Originals and buy the physical CD on June 21, and the deluxe edition and vinyl on July 19. Of course, this new album is just the latest in a string of Prince news. There’s still reportedly a lifetime’s worth of material in Prince’s supersecret vault, and a memoir, movie, and documentary are on the way. The Originals track list is below:

1. “Sex Shooter” (Apollonia 6)
2. “Jungle Love” (the Time)
3. “Manic Monday” (the Bangles)
4. “Noon Rendezvous” (Sheila E.)
5. “Make-Up” (Vanity 6)
6. “100 MPH” (Mazarati)
7. “You’re My Love” (Kenny Rogers)
8. “Holly Rock” (Sheila E.)
9. “Baby, You’re a Trip” (Jill Jones)
10. “The Glamorous Life” (Sheila E.)
11. “Gigolos Get Lonely Too” (the Time)
12. “Love … Thy Will Be Done” (Martika)
13. “Dear Michaelangelo” (Sheila E.)
14. “Wouldn’t You Love to Love Me?” (Taja Sevelle)
15. “Nothing Compares 2 U” (the Family/Sinéad O’Connor)

A New Prince Album Is Headed to Tidal