cannes 2019

Cannes Jury Awards Bong Joon-ho’s Parasite

Photo: Matt Winkelmeyer/Getty Images

This year’s Cannes Film Festival jury — led by jury president Alejandro González Iñárritu, and also including Elle Fanning, Yorgos Lanthimos, Kelly Reichardt, and Paweł Pawlikowski — gave the Palme d’Or to Bong Joon-ho’s Parasite. The second place Grand Prix prize went to Mati Diop’s debut feature Atlantics.

In the Un Certain Regard sidebar, Karim Ainouz’s The Invisible Life of Euridice Gusmao won the top prize. The International Federation of Film Critics (Fipresci) awarded Robert Eggers’ Robert Pattinson-Willem Dafoe drama The Lighthouse with its award for best first or second feature.

Full Winners List

Palme d’Or: Parasite, Bong Joon-ho

Grand Prix: Atlantics, Mati Diop

Jury Prize (tie): Les Misérables, Ladj Ly; and Bacurau, Kleber Mendonça Filho, and Juliano Dornelles

Best Actress: Emily Beecham, Little Joe

Best Actor: Antonio Banderas, Pain and Glory

Best Director: Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne, The Young Ahmed

Best ScreenplayPortrait of a Lady on Fire, Céline Sciamma

Special Mention of the JuryIt Must Be Heaven, Elia Suleiman

Camera d’OrOur Mothers, César Díaz

Short Film Palme d’OrThe Distance Between Us and The Sky, Vasilis Kekatos

Special Mention of the Jury: Monstruo Dios, Agustina San

Queer Palm (Feature)Portrait of a Lady on Fire, Céline Sciamma

Queer Palm (Short)The Distance Between Us and The Sky, Vasilis Kekatos

Cannes Jury Awards Bong Joon-ho’s Parasite