promising young movies

The Los Angeles Film Critics Association Names Small Axe (All of it!) Its Best Picture

Small Axe Photo: Amazon Prime Video

Adjust your Oscar futures accordingly. On December 20, the Los Angeles Film Critics Association voted on their annual awards. Many hours and one lunch break later, the voting body named Steve McQueen’s five-installment film series Small Axe their Best Picture winner for 2020. The L.A. Critics awarded Chloe Zhao their best director for Nomadland, and Emerald Fennell won Best Screenplay for Promising Young Woman, with Carey Mulligan winning Best Actress for her role in the latter. Chadwick Boseman and Glynn Turman won Best Actor and Best Supporting Actor, respectively, for Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom. Best Supporting Actress went to Youn Yuh-jung for Minari.

The L.A. Critics Awards overlapped with their New York counterparts in some categories beyond Best Director, including Best Nonfiction Film (Time), Best Animated Film (Wolfwalkers), Best Cinematography (Small Axe), and Best Emerging Filmmaker (Radha Blank for The 40-Year-Old Version). Below is the complete list of Los Angeles Film Critics Association Awards winners, as well as runners up.

Best Picture

Small Axe
Runner-up: Nomadland

Best Director

Chloe Zhao, Nomadland
Runner-up: Steve McQueen, Small Axe

Best Actor

Chadwick Boseman, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
Runner-up: Riz Ahmed, Sound of Metal

Best Actress

Carey Mulligan, Promising Young Woman
Runner-up: Viola Davis, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

Best Supporting Actor

Glynn Turman, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
Runner-up: Paul Raci, Sound of Metal

Best Supporting Actress

Youn Yuh-jung, Minari
Runner-up: Amanda Seyfried, Mank

Best Animated Film

Runner-up: Soul

Best Documentary/Nonfiction Film

Runner-up: Collective

Best Foreign Language Film

Runner-up: Martin Eden

Best Screenplay

Promising Young Woman, Emerald Fennell
Runner-up: Never Rarely Sometimes Always, Eliza Hittman

Best Cinematography

Small Axe, Shabier Kirchner
Runner-up: Nomadland, Joshua James Richards

Best Editing

The Father, Yorgos Lamprinos
Runner-up: Time, Gabriel Rhodes

Best Music/Score

Soul, Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross
Runner-up: Lovers Rock, Mica Levy

Best Production Design

Mank, Donald Graham Burt
Runner-up: Beanpole, Sergey Ivanov

New Generation Prize

The 40-Year-Old Version, Radha Blank

Douglas Edwards Experimental Film Award

Her Socialist Smile, John Gianvito

Career Achievement

Hou Hsiao-Hsien and Harry Belafonte

Legacy Award

Norman Lloyd

L.A. Film Critics Name Small Axe Their Best Picture of 2020