Guillermo del Toro Assembling a Monstrous Team for Cabinet of Curiosities

Photo-Illustration: Vulture. Photos: Getty Images

Well, it’s not called Cabinet of Curiosities for nothing. Aren’t you curious who else is involved in Guillermo del Toro’s upcoming Netflix horror anthology series? Per The Hollywood Reporter and Deadline, the Oscar-winning director has assembled a cast that includes The Walking Dead’s Andrew Lincoln, Amadeus Oscar winner F. Murray Abraham, The Babadook star Essie Davis, The Wire’s Glynn Turman, Westworld’s Ben Barnes, and O Brother, Where Art Thou?’s Tim Blake Nelson among many, many others. The eight-episode series — originally titled Guillermo del Toro Presents 10 After Midnight — has also built a team of writers and directors including Dark Knight writer David S. Goyer, Deadwood writer Regina Corrado, Twilight director Catherine Hardwicke, Hannibal director Vincenzo Natali, and Babadook writer-director Jennifer Kent, who reunites with Davis for her episode. Two of the episodes are based on original stories by del Toro, who serves as co-showrunner alongside his Shape of Water executive producer J. Miles Dale. (Disappointed that HBO didn’t renew Lovecraft Country? Two episodes will be based on H.P. Lovecraft stories.) The series has gone into production in Toronto and is set to hit Netflix in 2022. Find more details on each episode below.

1. Essie Davis, Andrew Lincoln, and Hannah Galway star; Jennifer Kent writes and directs (based on an original story by Guillermo del Toro).
2. F. Murray Abraham, Glynn Turman, and Luke Roberts star; David S. Goyer writes; David Prior directs (based on a short story by Michael Shea).
3. Tim Blake Nelson, Elpidia Carrillo, Demetrius Grosse, and Sebastian Roché star; Regina Corrado writes; Guillermo Navarro directs (based on an original story by Guillermo del Toro).
4. Crispin Glover and Ben Barnes star, Lee Patterson writes, Keith Thomas directs (based on a short story by H.P. Lovecraft).
5. Peter Weller stars, Panos Cosmatos writes with Aaron Stewart-Ahn and directs.
6. Mika Watkins writes, Catherine Hardwicke directs, the cast to be announced (based on a short story by H.P. Lovecraft).
7. David Hewlett stars, Vincenzo Natali writes and directs (based on a short story by Henry Kuttner).
8. Haley Z. Boston writes, Ana Lily Amirpour directs, the cast to be announced (based on a short story by Emily Carroll).

Guillermo del Toro’s Netflix Anthology Has a Monstrous Team