awards season

2022 Critics’ Choice Awards Nominations Led by Belfast and West Side Story

Belfast, directed by Kenneth Branagh. Photo: Focus Features

Hollywood’s on-again, off-again relationship with critics is back on for the 2022 Critics’ Choice Awards. The postponed awards finally have a date. The Critics Choice Association announced that it will host a live broadcast of the film and television awards ceremony on March 13. The event was originally scheduled for January 9 but was postponed in December as COVID cases rose. “Following the science and tracking the course of the Omicron variant, we believe that March 13 will be the right day to properly honor the finest achievements in film and television during the past year,” said the CCA’s CEO Joey Berlin.

The ceremony will air on TBS and the CW at 7 p.m. ET on March 13, which Variety notes is the same evening as the BAFTA Awards. Just as notably, the original date of January 9 would have conflicted with the Golden Globes, which NBC declined to broadcast and so took place on Twitter. Taye Diggs has hosted the Critics’ Choice Awards for the past three years, and for 2022, he will be joined by comedian Nicole Byer.

The Critics Choice Association announced its best film picks of the year … right after the HFPA announced the Golden Globes nominees on the morning of December 13. Kenneth Branagh’s Belfast scored at both, this time tying with West Side Story for 11 nominations each. Dune, Don’t Look Up, The Power of the Dog, Licorice Pizza, and King Richard also celebrated Best Picture nominations along with Guillermo del Toro’s Nightmare Alley, CODA, and Tick, Tick … Boom. Ariana DeBose and Rita Moreno from West Side Story are both up for Best Supporting Actress against Power of the Dog star Kirsten Dunst, while Maria Vasquez herself, Rachel Zegler, landed in Best Young Actor/Actress. Meanwhile, Succession holds control of the TV category with eight nominations. Find the full list of 2022 Critics’ Choice Awards nominees below.

Best Picture
Don’t Look Up
King Richard
Licorice Pizza
Nightmare Alley
The Power of the Dog
Tick, Tick … Boom!
West Side Story

Best Actor
Nicolas Cage, Pig
Benedict Cumberbatch, The Power of the Dog
Peter Dinklage, Cyrano
Andrew Garfield, Tick, Tick … Boom!
Will Smith, King Richard
Denzel Washington, The Tragedy of Macbeth

Best Actress
Jessica Chastain, The Eyes of Tammy Faye
Olivia Colman, The Lost Daughter
Lady Gaga, House of Gucci
Alana Haim, Licorice Pizza
Nicole Kidman, Being the Ricardos
Kristen Stewart, Spencer

Best Supporting Actor
Jamie Dornan, Belfast
Ciarán Hinds, Belfast
Troy Kotsur, CODA
Jared Leto, House of Gucci
J.K. Simmons, Being the Ricardos
Kodi Smit-McPhee, The Power of the Dog

Best Supporting Actress
Caitríona Balfe, Belfast
Ariana DeBose, West Side Story
Ann Dowd, Mass
Kirsten Dunst, The Power of the Dog
Aunjanue Ellis, King Richard
Rita Moreno, West Side Story

Best Young Actor/Actress
Jude Hill, Belfast
Cooper Hoffman, Licorice Pizza
Emilia Jones, CODA
Woody Norman, C’mon C’mon
Saniyya Sidney, King Richard
Rachel Zegler, West Side Story

Best Acting Ensemble
Don’t Look Up
The Harder They Fall
Licorice Pizza
The Power of the Dog
West Side Story

Best Director
Paul Thomas Anderson, Licorice Pizza
Kenneth Branagh, Belfast
Jane Campion, The Power of the Dog
Guillermo del Toro, Nightmare Alley
Steven Spielberg, West Side Story
Denis Villeneuve, Dune

Best Original Screenplay
Paul Thomas Anderson, Licorice Pizza
Zach Baylin, King Richard
Kenneth Branagh, Belfast
Adam McKay, David Sirota, Don’t Look Up
Aaron Sorkin, Being the Ricardos

Best Adapted Screenplay
Jane Campion, The Power of the Dog
Maggie Gyllenhaal, The Lost Daughter
Siân Heder, CODA
Tony Kushner, West Side Story
Jon Spaihts, Denis Villeneuve, Eric Roth, Dune

Best Cinematography
Bruno Delbonnel, The Tragedy of Macbeth
Greig Fraser, Dune
Janusz Kaminski, West Side Story
Dan Laustsen, Nightmare Alley
Ari Wegner, The Power of the Dog
Haris Zambarloukos, Belfast

Best Production Design
Jim Clay, Claire Nia Richards, Belfast
Tamara Deverell, Shane Vieau, Nightmare Alley
Adam Stockhausen, Rena DeAngelo, The French Dispatch
Adam Stockhausen, Rena DeAngelo, West Side Story
Patrice Vermette, Zsuzsanna Sipos, Dune

Best Film Editing
Sarah Broshar, Michael Kahn, West Side Story
Úna Ní Dhonghaíle, Belfast
Andy Jurgensen, Licorice Pizza
Peter Sciberras, The Power of the Dog
Joe Walker, Dune

Best Costume Design
Jenny Beavan, Cruella
Luis Sequeira, Nightmare Alley
Paul Tazewell, West Side Story
Jacqueline West, Robert Morgan, Dune
Janty Yates, House of Gucci

Best Hair and Makeup
The Eyes of Tammy Faye
House of Gucci
Nightmare Alley

Best Visual Effects
The Matrix Resurrections
Nightmare Alley
No Time to Die
Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings

Best Comedy
Barb & Star Go to Vista Del Mar
Don’t Look Up
Free Guy
The French Dispatch
Licorice Pizza

Best Animated Feature
The Mitchells vs. the Machines
Raya and the Last Dragon

Best Foreign Language Film
A Hero
Drive My Car
The Hand of God
The Worst Person in the World

Best Song
“Be Alive,” King Richard
“Dos Oruguitas,” Encanto
“Guns Go Bang,” The Harder They Fall
“Just Look Up,” Don’t Look Up
“No Time to Die,” No Time to Die

Best Score
Nicholas Britell, Don’t Look Up
Jonny Greenwood, The Power of the Dog
Jonny Greenwood, Spencer
Nathan Johnson, Nightmare Alley
Hans Zimmer, Dune

This post has been updated.

Belfast and West Side Story Lead 2022 Critics’ Choice Noms