awards chatter

Dune Led the 2022 BAFTAs, Innit?

Photo: Guy Levy/Shutterstock for BAFTA

Dune led the 2022 BAFTA Film Awards, with 5 wins. They were mostly in technical categories, however. Best Film went to Sam Elliott’s fave The Power of the Dog, with Campion taking Best Director as well. Outstanding British Film went to Belfast. Ariana DeBose continued her near-sweep for West Side Story, as did Troy Kotsur for CODA.

The evening was hosted by Rebel Wilson, who joked that she’d made such a stunning physical transformation in the past few years that she’s courting J.K. Rowlings disfavor. Aside from a dig at Rowling, the main political agenda of the evening was continuing support for Ukraine, with Andy Serkis criticizing U.K. Home Secretary Priti Patel for failing to quickly welcome Ukrainian refugees before awarding Campion with Best Director.

Here is the full list of nominees, with winners bolded:

Best Film
Don’t Look Up
Licorice Pizza
The Power of the Dog

Outstanding British Film
After Love
Ali & Ava
Boiling Point
Everybody’s Talking About Jamie
House of Gucci
Last Night in Soho
No Time to Die

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer
After Love – Aleem Khan (Writer/Director)
Boiling Point – James Cummings Co-Writer), Hester Ruoff (Co-Producer)
The Harder They Fall – Jeymes Samuel (Co-Writer/director)
Keyboard Fantasies – Posy Dixon (Writer/Director), Liv Proctor (Producer)
Passing – Rebecca Hall (Writer/Director)

Best Film Not in the English Language
Drive My Car – Ryûsuke Hamaguchi, Teruhisa Yamamoto
The Hand of God – Paolo Sorrentino, Lorenzo Mieli
Parallel Mothers – Pedro Almodóvar, Agustín Almodóvar
Petite Maman – Céline Sciamma, Bénédicte Couvreur
The Worst Person in the World – Joachim Trier, Thomas Robsahm

Best Documentary
Becoming Cousteau – Liz Garbus, Dan Cogan
Cow – Andrea Arnold, Kat Mansoor
Flee – Jonas Poher Rasmussen. Monica Hellström
The Rescue – Elizabeth Chai Vasarhelyi, Jimmy Chin, John Battsek, P. J. Van Sandwijk
Summer of Soul (or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised) – Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson, David Dinerstein, Robert Fyvolent, Joseph Patel

Best Animated Film
Encanto – Jared Bush, Byron Howard, Yvett Merino, Clarke Spencer
Flee – Jonas Poher Rasmussen. Monica Hellström
Luca – Enrico Casarosa, Andrea Warren
The Mitchells Vs the Machines – Mike Rianda, Phil Lord, Christopher Miller

Best Director
After Love – Aleem Khan
Drive My Car – Ryûsuke Hamaguchi
Happening – Audrey Diwan
Licorice Pizza – Paul Thomas Anderson
The Power of the Dog – Jane Campion
Titane – Julia Ducournau

Best Original Screenplay
Being the Ricardos – Aaron Sorkin
Belfast – Kenneth Branagh
Don’t Look Up – Adam Mckay
King Richard – Zach Baylin
Licorice Pizza – Paul Thomas Anderson

Best Adapted Screenplay
CODA – Siân Heder
Drive My Car – Ryûsuke Hamaguchi
Dune – Eric Roth, Jon Spaihts, Denis Villeneuve
The Lost Daughter – Maggie Gyllenhaal
The Power of the Dog – Jane Campion

Best Leading Actress
Lady Gaga – House of Gucci
Alana Haim – Licorice Pizza
Emilia Jones – CODA
Renate Reinsve – The Worst Person in the World
Joanna Scanlan – After Love
Tessa Thompson – Passing

Best Leading Actor
Adeel Akhtar – Ali & Ava
Mahershala Ali – Swan Song
Benedict Cumberbatch – The Power of the Dog
Leonardo DiCaprio – Don’t Look Up
Stephen Graham – Boiling Point
Will Smith – King Richard

Best Supporting Actress
Caitríona Balfe – Belfast
Jessie Buckley – The Lost Daughter
Ariana DeBose – West Side Story
Ann Dowd – Mass
Aunjanue Ellis – King Richard
Ruth Negga – Passing

Best Supporting Actor
Mike Faist – West Side Story
Ciarán Hinds – Belfast
Troy Kotsur – CODA
Woody Norman – C’mon C’mon
Jesse Plemons – The Power of the Dog
Kodi Smit-McPhee – The Power of the Dog

Best Original Score
Being the Ricardos – Daniel Pemberton
Don’t Look Up – Nicholas Britell
Dune – Hans Zimmer
The French Dispatch – Alexandre Desplat
The Power of the Dog – Jonny Greenwood

Best Casting
Boiling Point – Carolyn Mcleod
Dune – Francine Maisler
The Hand of God – Massimo Appolloni, Annamaria Sambucco
King Richard – Rich Delia, Avy Kaufman
West Side Story – Cindy Tolan

Best Cinematography
Dune – Greig Fraser
Nightmare Alley – Dan Laustsen
No Time to Die – Linus Sandgren
The Power of the Dog – Ari Wegner
The Tragedy of Macbeth – Bruno Delbonnel

Best Editing
Belfast – Úna Ní Dhonghaíle
Dune – Joe Walker
Licorice Pizza – Andy Jurgensen
No Time to Die – Tom Cross, Elliot Graham
Summer of Soul (or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised) – Joshua L. Pearson

Best Production Design
Cyrano – Sarah Greenwood, Katie Spencer
Dune – Patrice Vermette, Zsuzsanna Sipos
The French Dispatch – Adam Stockhausen, Rena Deangelo
Nightmare Alley – Tamara Deverell, Shane Vieau
West Side Story – Adam Stockhausen, Rena Deangelo

Best Costume Design
Cruella – Jenny Beavan
Cyrano – Massimo Cantini Parrini
Dune – Robert Morgan, Jacqueline West
The French Dispatch – Milena Canonero
Nightmare Alley – Luis Sequeira

Best Make Up & Hair
Cruella – Nadia Stacey, Naomi Donne
Cyrano – Alessandro Bertolazzi, Siân Miller
Dune – Love Larson, Donald Mowat
The Eyes of Tammy Faye – Linda Dowds, Stephanie Ingram, Justin Raleigh
House of Gucci – Frederic Aspiras, Jane Carboni, Giuliano Mariana, Sarah Nicole Tanno

Best Sound
Dune – Mac Ruth, Mark Mangini, Doug Hemphill, Theo Green, Ron Bartlett
Last Night in Soho – Colin Nicolson, Julian Slater, Tim Cavagin, Dan Morgan
No Time to Die – James Harrison, Simon Hayes, Paul Massey, Oliver Tarney, Mark Taylor
A Quiet Place Part II – Erik Aadahl, Michael Barosky, Brandon Proctor, Ethan Van Der Ryn
West Side Story – Brian Chumney, Tod Maitland, Andy Nelson, Gary Rydstrom

Best Special Visual Effects
Dune – Brian Connor, Paul Lambert, Tristan Myles, Gerd Nefzer
Free Guy – Swen Gillberg, Brian Grill, Nikos Kalaitzidis, Daniel Sudick
Ghostbusters: Afterlife – Aharon Bourland, Sheena Duggal, Pier Lefebvre, Alessandro Ongaro
The Matrix Resurrections – Tom Debenham, Hew J Evans, Dan Glass, J. D. Schwaim
No Time to Die – Mark Bokowski, Chris Corbould, Joel Green, Charlie Noble

Outstanding British Short Animation
“Affairs of the Art” – Joanna Quinn, Les Mills
“Do Not Feed the Pigeons” – Jordi Morera
“Night of the Living Dread” – Ida Melum, Danielle Goff, Laura Jayne Tunbridge, Hannah Kelso

Outstanding British Short Film
“The Black Cop” – Cherish Oteka
“Femme” – Sam H. Freeman, Ng Choon Ping, Sam Ritzenberg, Hayley Williams
“The Palace” – Jo Prichard
“Stuffed” – Theo Rhys, Joss Holden-rea
“Three Meetings of the Extraordinary Committee” – Michael Woodward, Max Barron, Daniel Wheldon

EE Rising Star Award (Voted for by the Public)
Ariana DeBose
Harris Dickinson
Lashana Lynch
Millicent Simmonds
Kodi Smit-McPhee

Here Are the Winners of the 2022 BAFTA Film Awards