awards szn

Abbott Elementary, The Bear, and Severance Top the 2023 Indie Spirit TV Noms

The Bear. Photo: Matt Dinerstein/FX

The 2023 Independent Spirit Awards movie and television nominations are in, and a film that premiered all the way back in March stood out in the minds of members of the nominating committee. Everything Everywhere All at Once led the film pack on November 22 with eight nominations, scoring nods in every top category (Michelle Yeoh hive, rise). Meanwhile, the TÁR-MY won’t be disappointed with the biopic’s amount of honors — Tár earns seven nominations including Best Feature, Best Director, and Best Lead Performance for chameleon Cate Blanchett. Charlotte Wells’s first feature, Aftersun — starring Paul Mescal at his most devastating — earned the third-most nods with five total. Once thought to be a shoo-in for a nomination or two, Darren Aronofsky’s The Whale was completely shut out — as was its star, Brendan Fraser. Producer and distributor A24 earned the most nods for a studio with 24 total nominations. Focus Features followed far behind with nine.

As for TV nominations, announced on December 13, beloved Abbott Elementary, meme-ifed The Bear, Apple TV+’s acclaimed Severance, and HBO Max’s pandemic drama, Station Eleven, earned three nods each. Pachinko and The Porter followed close behind with two nominations. The acting categories spread love across a wide range of shows — Mo, Rap Sh!t, This Is Going to Hurt, Somebody Somewhere, This Fool, and others were honored in the Best Performance categories. Below is the full list of film and television nominees ahead of the Indie Spirit Awards on March 4, 2023.


Best Feature
Bones and All
Everything Everywhere All at Once
Our Father, the Devil
Women Talking

Best Director
Todd Field, Tár
Kogonada, After Yang
Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert, Everything Everywhere All at Once
Sarah Polley, Women Talking
Halina Reijn, Bodies Bodies Bodies

Best First Feature
Emily the Criminal
The Inspection
Palm Trees and Power Lines

Best Lead Performance
Cate Blanchett, Tár
Dale Dickey, A Love Song
Mia Goth, Pearl
Regina Hall, Honk for Jesus. Save Your Soul
Paul Mescal, Aftersun
Aubrey Plaza, Emily the Criminal
Jeremy Pope, The Inspection
Taylor Russell, Bones and All
Andrea Riseborough, To Leslie
Michelle Yeoh, Everything Everywhere All at Once

Best Supporting Performance
Jamie Lee Curtis, Everything Everywhere All at Once
Brian Tyree Henry, Causeway
Nina Hoss, Tár
Brian d’Arcy James, The Cathedral
Ke Huy Quan, Everything Everywhere All at Once
Trevante Rhodes, Bruiser
Theo Rossi, Emily the Criminal
Mark Rylance, Bones and All
Jonathan Tucker, Palm Trees and Power Lines
Gabrielle Union, The Inspection

Breakthrough Performance
Frankie Corio, Aftersun
Gracija Filipović, Murina
Stephanie Hsu, Everything Everywhere All at Once
Lily McInerny, Palm Trees and Power Lines
Daniel Zolghadri, Funny Pages

Best Screenplay
Lena Dunham, Catherine Called Birdy
Todd Field, Tár
Kogonada, After Yang
Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert, Everything Everywhere All at Once
Sarah Polley, Women Talking

Best First Screenplay
Joel Kim Booster, Fire Island
Jamie Dack, Audrey Findlay, Story by Jamie Dack, Palm Trees and Power Lines
K.D. Dávila, Emergency
Sarah DeLappe, Story by Kristen Roupenian, Bodies Bodies Bodies
John Patton Ford, Emily the Criminal

Best Cinematography
Florian Hoffmeister, Tár
Hélène Louvart, Murina
Gregory Oke, Aftersun
Eliot Rockett, Pearl
Anisia Uzeyman, Neptune Frost

Best Editing
Ricky D’Ambrose, The Cathedral
Dean Fleischer Camp, Nick Paley, Marcel the Shell With Shoes On
Blair McClendon, Aftersun
Paul Rogers, Everything Everywhere All at Once
Monika Willi, Tár

Robert Altman Award
Women Talking

Best Documentary
A House Made of Splinters
All That Breathes
All the Beauty and the Bloodshed
Riotsville, U.S.A.

Best International Film
Leonor Will Never Die
Return to Seoul
Saint Omer

Someone to Watch Award
Adamma Ebo, Honk for Jesus. Save Your Soul
Nikyatu Jusu, Nanny
Araceli Lemos, Holy Emy

Truer Than Fiction Award
Isabel Castro, Mija
Reid Davenport, I Didn’t See You There
Rebeca Huntt, Beba

John Cassavetes Award
The African Desperate
A Love Song
The Cathedral
Holy Emy
Something in the Dirt

Producers Award
Liz Cardenas
Tory Lenosky
David Grove Churchill Viste


Best New Scripted Series
The Bear
The Porter
Station Eleven

Best New Non-Scripted or Documentary Series
Children of the Underground
Mind Over Murder
Pepsi, Where’s My Jet?
The Rehearsal
We Need to Talk About Cosby

Best Lead Performance in a New Scripted Series
Aml Ameen, The Porter
Mohammed Amer, Mo
Quinta Brunson, Abbott Elementary
Bridget Everett, Somebody Somewhere
KaMillion, Rap Sh!t
Melanie Lynskey, Yellowjackets
Himesh Patel, Station Eleven
Sue Ann Pien, As We See It
Adam Scott, Severance
Ben Whishaw, This Is Going to Hurt

Best Supporting Performance in a New Scripted Series
Danielle Deadwyler, Station Eleven
Ayo Edebiri, The Bear
Jeff Hiller, Somebody Somewhere
Gbemisola Ikumelo, A League of Their Own
Janelle James, Abbott Elementary
Ebon Moss-Bachrach, The Bear
Frank Quiñones, The Fool
Sheryl Lee Ralph, Abbott Elementary
Molly Shannon, I Love That for You
Tramell Tillman, Severance

Best Ensemble Cast in a new Scripted Series
Ensemble Cast: Soji Arai, Jin Ha, Inji Jeong, Minha Kim, Kaho Minami, Lee Minho, Steve Sanghyun Noh, Anna Sawai, Jimmi Simpson, Yuh-jung Youn

This post has been updated throughout.

Abbott, The Bear, Severance Lead 2023 Indie Spirit TV Noms